The selection of the national ski mountaineering team will take place in A-Basin from December 10 to 12

The national ski mountaineering team will be decided this weekend at the Arapahoe Basin ski area in two qualifying races.

The vertical competition took place on Friday, December 10, and the individual long-course competition will take place at 7 a.m. on Sunday, December 11.

The vertical competition will be a 1.5 mile running course with 1,600 feet of elevation gain. Vertical races consist of a single ascent performed entirely on skis with skins. No boot packing or downhill skiing is involved, and it’s a race to the top of the mountain.

The individual race format is the most popular race in the United States and consists of an 8 mile long course with over 4,600 feet of elevation gain. A short course will also be offered to recreational runners, with a length of 4.8 miles and 2,900 feet of elevation gain.

The individual race format typically has a minimum of three climbs and descents for the men’s and women’s divisions.

The races will determine the national teams for four age categories, including the U18, U20, U23 and Senior classifications for each racing discipline.

In order to be eligible to qualify on the team, all nominees must be U.S. citizens during the selection races and the 2021-22 National Team tenure. They must also be current members in good standing of the US Ski Mountaineering Association.

The top three in the U18-U23 categories and the top five in the senior classification will be nominated to the national team in the vertical or individual races.

There are also places for the Euro Tour up for grabs, which is only available to a limited number of qualified US National Team athletes in the Senior, U23, U20 and U18 age categories.

The races bring the promise of a wide range of local competing athletes, some racing to be part of the national team while others will race as part of the general public. There will be riders from Team Summit, Summit Endurance Academy and the Summit Skimo Club.

All races are open to the public.