Eydallin, Mollart, Arnold, Fatton win in France

The third stage of the 2019 Ski Mountaineering World Cup took place this weekend in Dévoluy in France. Matteo Eydallin and Axelle Mollaret won the individual race, while Iwan Arnold and Marianne Fatton won the Sprint.

Heavy snowfall at Superdévoluy in France forced the organizers of the third stage of the 2019 Ski Mountaineering World Cup to modify the course to ensure maximum safety, resulting in a 440m track run twice by the Juniors Women ( + 880m), three times by Junior Men and Senior Women (+ 1320m) and four times Senior Men (+ 1760m).

Matteo Eydallin won the race on Saturday morning, and from the start he, Robert Antonioli and Michele Boscacci took the lead. Only 2013 world champion William Bon Mardion managed to keep pace, slipping to third place just at the end as Antonioli struggled with the snow sticking to his skin. Eydallin won after 1h26’56 ”, a few thousandths of a second ahead of Boscacci and Bon Mardion. Antonioli finished fourth, Anton Palzer fifth. In the women’s competition, the reigning European champion Axelle Mollaret won from the start. The Frenchwoman stopped the clock after 1:16:17, ahead of Claudia Galicia Cotrina, silver with 1:18:02, and Alba De Sylvester, bronze with 1:18:25.

The Sprint competition took place this morning and was won by Iwan Arnolde and Marianne Fatton. The Swiss beat teammate Arno Lietha and Hans-Inge Klette of Norway, while France’s Marianne Fatton sprinted for first place ahead of Spain’s Claudia Galicia Cotrina and teammate Lorna Bonnel, silver and bronze respectively.

Senior men

1. Matteo Eydallin (ITA)
2. Michele Boscacci (ITA)
3. William Bon Mardion (FRA)

Senior women
1. Axelle Gachet Mollaret (FRA)
2. Claudia Galicia Cotrina (ESP)
3. Alba De Silvestro (ITA)

Hope Men
1. Davide Magnini (ITA)
2. Thibault Anselmet (FRA)
3. Maximilien Drion Du Chapois (BEL)

Hope Women
1. Giulia Murada (ITA)
2. Mara Martini (ITA)
3. Ilaria Veronese (ITA)

Junior men
1. Giovanni Rossi (ITA)
2. Sébastien Guichardaz (ITA)
3. Patrick Perreten (SUI)

Junior Women
1. Ekaterina Osichkina (RUS)
2. Émilie Farquet (SUI)
3. Samantha Bertolina (ITA)

Senior men

1. Iwan Arnold (SUI)
2. Arno Lietha (SUI)
3. Hans-Inge Klette (NOR)

Senior women
1. Marianne Fatton (SUI)
2. Claudia Galicia Cotrina (ESP)
3. Lorna Bonnel (FRA)

Hope Men
1. Arno Lietha (SUI)
2. Hans-Inge Klette (NOR)
3. Thibault Anselmet (FRA)

Hope Women
1. Adèle Milloz (FRA)
2. Léna Bonnel (FRA)
3. Giulia Murada (ITA)

Junior men
1. Patrick Perreten (SUI)
2. Giovanni Rossi (ITA)
3. Rémy Garcin (FRA)

Junior Women
1. Ekaterina Osichkina (RUS)
2. Samantha Bertolina (ITA)
3. Émilie Farquet (SUI)