10 ski areas in Colorado will soon close for the season. But first, some fresh snow.

Even with the mountains buffeted by a heavy spring snowstorm that will set foot in some resorts, 10 Colorado ski areas will close for the season on Sunday.

Areas closing Sunday include Beaver Creek, Cooper, Echo, Eldora, Silverton, Keystone, Monarch, Purgatory, Snowmass and Wolf Creek. A week later, Aspen and Copper Mountain will close, leaving only five in operation.

Over the next four days, Beaver Creek, Vail and Winter Park can expect a foot of snow, according to Joel Gratz, founding meteorologist at OpenSnow. Wolf Creek and Snowmass can expect 10 inches, and the list of areas that can expect 6-9 inches includes Cooper, Copper Mountain, Granby Ranch, Arapahoe Basin, Aspen, and Breckenridge.

RELATED: When all ski areas in Colorado are due to close this season

This week’s storm is also good news for ski tourers hoping for a long spring season. Cameron Pass, west of Fort Collins, is expected to get 18 inches from this storm. Berthoud Pass and Jones Pass could get 12 inches and Vail Pass 10. Avalanche danger for these areas is currently considered to be considerable, according to the Colorado Avalanche Information Center.

Here is a list of areas that will remain open after April 24, with their closure dates: Vail (May 1), Loveland (May 8), Winter Park (TBD in May), Breckenridge (May 30) and Arapahoe Basin ( to be determined in June).

Already closed: Aspen Highlands, Buttermilk, Crested Butte, Granby Ranch, Powderhorn, Steamboat, Sunlight, Telluride.

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter, The Adventurist, to get outdoor news delivered straight to your inbox.